squash in Washington DC, Maryland and Virginia
Wednesday January 22nd 2020



NCS Junior Awards — Strongest Group Ever

National Capital Squash presented its annual junior awards Saturday, May 18, to the top junior players in the National Capital Squash (NCS) district. It was believed to be the strongest group of junior players in NCS history.

The top award, the MVP award, was given to the highest ranked juniors. This year’s winners were Arjith Mathew, Boys Under 13; Matthew Granovsky, Boys Under 17; Liam Rotzoll, Boys Under 19; Khadija Elhaddad, Girls Under 11; Elise Kang, Girls Under 13; Erica Maebius, Girls Under 15; Sofia L. Arseniev, Girls Under 17; and Emma V Wolf, Girls Under 17.

Some of the MVP Award Winners

The rookies of the year award is given to the highest ranked players in their first full season of competition. This year, the winners were Sami Garside (BU13) and Uma Patnaik (GU13).

Rookies of the Year

The most improved award winners racked up incredible improvements since 2018. All the winners improved their skill ratings by between 0.8 and 0.92 skill rating points! The winners were Ellis Chung, Girls U13 and U15 and Elise Kang, Girls U13 and U15 (tie); Madeleine Drefke, Girls U17 and U19; Noah C Cha, Boys U13 and U15; and Alex Akbari, Boys U17 and U19.

The All Star Awards were given to the following players: Julian Jinich, Boys Under 13; Lucas Bitar, Boys Under 13; Benjamin Choi, Boys Under 15; Zaid Nasr, Boys Under 15; Christopher Kang, Boys Under 17; Cameron Darnell, Boys Under 19; Akaisha Bhatia, Girls Under 11; Ellis Chung, Girls Under 13; Caroline Dupree, Girls Under 13; Layah Nasr, Girls Under 15; Madeleine Drefke, Girls Under 17; and Aalia N. Husain, Girls Under 17.

Some of the All Star Award Winners

A complete list of award winners appears here. Congratulations to all of them!